The Year Of The Cordless Tool

How lockdown got me started on battery powered DIY

Michael Thorn
4 min readApr 10, 2021

--

Photo by Maarten Deckers on Unsplash

Up until some nine months ago, I did not own a single cordless power tool. It’s true that, right at the back of the under-stairs cupboard, there was a boxed corded hammer drill and jigsaw but neither had been properly used since I had made and fitted some bookshelves soon after moving into our house in the early 1990s. Drilling into the inconsistent walls of a Victorian terraced townhouse is not something that encourages further DIY adventures.

Last summer, I needed to remove and repair a wooden conservatory door and, using some earnings from copyediting, acquired a cordless driver and orbital sander. The door is going to have to come off its hinges again at some point this summer, to make the repairs more permanent, but that will be another episode in the story that started with the purchase of those first two cordless tools.

I enjoyed using the tools. They were both made by the same manufacturer and I liked the fact that the driver came in its own plastic briefcase, containing the battery and the charger. I looked for other cordless tools that I might find equally useful and next bought a multi-tool, which also came with its own green briefcase, containing the tool and its accessories. My purchase qualified me for a free additional battery, which was good…

--

--