Don’t know what you got ’til it’s gone

We’ve now been without broadband for 13 days and counting.

Michael Thorn
3 min readJan 16, 2023
Photo by Praveen kumar Mathivanan on Unsplash

We’ve now been without broadband for 13 days and counting.

I’ll spare you the details of the two mornings I was waiting at home for an engineer to arrive only to discover that they had never been on their way. On the first occasion it was because the job had been allocated to someone not at work on the day in question. On the second it was because OpenReach had determined the fault was on the line and so a home visit would be of no help. They told my provider this, but not me. That was 10 days ago.

In spite of all this you may be surprised to hear I would still recommend my provider and have no thought of changing once this has been resolved. The main reason is that the speed of response from their support team cannot be faulted.

OFCOM’s automatic compensation scheme means that nearly £90 is already earmarked for my account, and I am due a further sum of compensation from my provider for the failure of their engineer to visit. Nevertheless, I would obviously have preferred this never to have happened.

I do have unlimited data on my mobile phone. Working off an iPhone hotspot for emailing, website updating and copyediting has been do-able but not without frustration — for example…

--

--